Origin of planets and astrology


I believe it is very important to clarify the nature of astrology, as many of even those who practice it do not understand what astrology is, how it works and affects us all. And in order to do so we need to advert to the texts, written by those who laid the foundation of this science, because they have given us all the information we need.

In the first chapter (slokas 20 and 21-24) of Brihat Parashara Hora it is said that “Lord Vishnu, coupled with Śrī Shakti, rules over the three worlds. Coupled with Bhoo Shakti, He is Brahma causing the Universe. Coupled with Neel Shakti, He is Shiva, destroying the Universe. The Lord is in all beings and the entire Universe is in Him.

And then in chapter 2 (slokas 3-4) it is said that “The unborn Lord has many incarnations. He has incarnated, as the 9 (Nava) Grahas to bestow on the living beings the results due to their Karmas.”

The importance of the information given in these sentences is invaluable. First of all Sage Parashara (who himself descended from the Sage Bhrigu, who is believed to be the son of Brahma) tells us that not only God created the entire Universe, but it is also situated within him entirely and at the same time he is situated in all beings, that inhabit this Universe in the form of Supersoul.

And then Parashara tells us that the God has incarnated as 9 Grahas (planets), namely: Sun, Moon, Mars, Venus, Jupiter, Mercury, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu. And the purpose of those incarnations is to bestow on the living beings the results according to their Karmas. From this we can infer that the planets in our solar system have a very specific function and they are not just some giant rocks floating on their orbits, but are divine entities, that directly affect our lives.

There are two types of beings: the ones with more Paramatma and the ones with more Jivatma in them. “The beings with more Paramatmāńś are called divine beings. The beings with more Jivatmāńś are (mortal) beings.” (BPHS, ch. 2, slokas 5-13). The latter are mortals. It is said that “The Jivatma portions from the Grahas take births, as human beings and live their lives according to their Karmas and again merge in the Grahas.” So, not only planets affect us, but they also create us and their energy, that constitutes us in this world returns back to them after our death.

We also know that “The high degree of Paramatmāńś from the Grahas, viz. Sūrya etc. did incarnate, as Ram, Krishn etc. After completing the mission, the Paramatmāńśas (of the respective) Grahas again merge (in the respective) Grahas”. The Sun incarnated as Lord Rama, and the Moon as Lord Krishna. Thus, the great incarnations of Lord Vishnu in this world transpired also through grahas. However such incarnations are different from those of ordinary human beings in many ways. Further, Parashara informs us that “at the time of Great Destruction the Grahas as well merge in Lord Vishnu.” So, all creation emanates from Lord Vishnu and merges into him when the time of this Universe is over.

By knowing this we can better understand what is Universe and what is our place in it. Thus step by step we will come out of the darkness of ignorance, which has fallen upon us in this age of Kali Yuga.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s